I’m Afraid of Americans


Johnny’s in America
Low techs at the wheel
Nobody needs anyone
They don’t even just pretend
Johnny’s in America

I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the world
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t

I’m afraid of Americans

Johnny’s in America

Johnny wants a brain
Johnny wants to suck on a Coke
Johnny wants a woman
Johnny wants to think of a joke

Johnny’s in America

I’m afraid of Americans

Johnny’s in America
Johnny looks up at the stars
Johnny combs his hair
And Johnny wants pussy in cars

Johnny’s in America
Johnny’s in America

I’m afraid of Americans

God is an American
God is an American

Yeah, I’m afraid of Americans
I’m afraid of the words
I’m afraid I can’t help it
I’m afraid I can’t

I’m afraid of Americans

Johnny’s an American
Johnny’s an American
Johnny’s an American

By NellaLou

6 comments on “I’m Afraid of Americans

  1. I’d like to respond, personally: That when I regard such works – distinctly, works of art, and in this case above, musical art*, also accompanied with the visual art of a music video – I do not take a position as if the artists were lobbying any sort of “national” political “attack”. I don’t regard such works of art as being, in themselves, political. I’m aware that some might differ, in such a view.

    I believe that such a work of art as that which you’ve made reference to, that it may address a certain political climate in the nation. Going with that hypothesis: It being a single climate in the nation, it would not, does not define the rest of the nation, outside of its own political members.

    It’s not mine to “split the snake”, as it were – in reference to the old “Don’t Tread on Me” flag, and its place in history – I simply wish to recognize that the diversity of the political climate in the United States is a part of what makes the United States free.

    As far as any classification of political climates, then – a subject that I’ve been thinking about, myself, for some time, perhaps to varying degrees of success, by any nominal terms: I believe it can be challenging, to define the exact nature of a political climate, in as it actively and peacefully-enough exists.

    On the aside: Some political climates – I’m thinking, Earth First, in that – they define themselves by their supporters committing illegal, politically-motivated actions on the behalf of the broader “that-one-climate” party. Whether or not the leadership of the that-one-climate party, as such, would regard itself (openly or privately) as supporting such actions, that would be another matter. In the case of Earth First – some of whose supporters’ actions may be easily viewed as constituting domestic terrorism – it’s certainly not mine to comment about.

    I believe that climates other than those attributing active illegal actions to themselves can be more safely regarded for their dynamic qualities. (Why I would believe that any political party, however, committing and supporting active illegal actions, why such a party would not be worthy of such dynamic regard, I do not know if I can explain that. I would like to note that I would measure an action’s illegality in plain legal terms, with no unwritten clauses included. I am not a lawyer, and I am not a cop, but I may fancy that I can understand at least some of the lawyer’s trade, and the work of a cop, as well.)

    I’m not fond of all the political climates in the US, myself. Honestly, and in in particular: As well as my deploring any acts of domestic terrorism, some shades of neoconservative brave-new-world-ism can scare the living beans out of me, on the philosophical end. I understand, though, that our nation is far more diverse than may be defined of any one single party, and it is my continuing belief that the US will *never* be “owned” by any one, single political party.

    I understand that the US was founded, originally, according to principles of liberty and of the citizens’ right to be actively involved in making our nation’s own national government, and founded with – in mind – the rights of the citizen to *be* entitled to such rights as any free citizen not serving time for having broken serious laws must be deserving of, as regardless of any political view of or towards a citizen.

    I believe that visitors to the nation (i.e. non-citizens residing in the US for a time) should be given such rights, as well, within the same limits of clear legality.

    I understand that some events, in recent years, have opened up all kinds of feelings of cause-for-question. In memoriam, I notice the particularly tragic anniversary of the day on which I’ve made this comment.

    As to that, to comment personally about it: I myself may like to ask what was going wrong, in the cultural climates in which they interacted, that the attackers of September 11 2001 were blithely let to go about their actual, real and directed, terrible business.

    Pointedly, if I could assemble everyone with whom they interacted, in the US, I might like to ask them: How much was intellectual arrogance at play, in their allowing that terrible, premeditated attack to come about? I would ask that not with any political intention, however.

    I believe that people are, too often, too quick to pass blame, thereby missing the real responsibilities of a situation, and thereby ignoring a lot of what one could learn from the situation. I may feel that, personally, yet I cannot deny that the Congress would seem to have “closed the book” about it, with that major study made after the attack.

    I believe that we must not, absolutely must not allow for those terrible events, absolutely must not allow it to shake our true national and personal commitments to the principles on which our nation was originally founded – my taking to mind, the rights of liberty and of citizen involvement in government, in particular.

    Seeing the atrocities that may be committed by any political majority viewing itself as if it was above rules of law – regardless of how smart any members to which may sound, in reciting the phrase, “rule of law” – sometimes I’m just afraid of humanity. I try not to exaggerate about it, though, outside of the context of rhetorical hyperbole. I far more appreciate the ability of artists to render hyperbole in a creative and useful light, far more than my own abilities as such.

    Inasmuch, I may also be afraid of critics, at times. :)

  2. I don’t blame you. I am too.
    Though born in Pennsylvania,
    and bred in the New Jersey suburbs.
    That said, we’re really more bark than bite.
    Some of us, almost half, are actually pretty OK.

    And hey, all this freedom and excess
    Can make a person pretty grumpy.
    Too many choices.
    Too much work.
    It’s enough to make your head hurt.
    And we have to keep on buying, buying, and buying…
    or the whole damn thing will come crashing down.
    Even in Finland.
    Or, well, maybe…except for Finland….
    Either way.
    Lots of responsibility.
    Little appreciation.
    Oft misunderstood.
    See?
    It’s hard!
    So have some compassion.

    I have a lot more
    Now that I’ve moved to Africa.

    ; )

    Kim

Leave a Reply

